Genius of The Ancient World

3-part series for BBC 4 presented by Bettany Hughes

Historian Bettany Hughes travels to India, Greece and China on the trail of three giants of ancient philosophy: the Buddha, Socrates and Confucius in this series for BBC 4 scored by Paul Honey.

All three philosophers lived between the 6th and 5th century BC, during a period of unprecedented intellectual development: those 100 years changed the way we see ourselves forever.

These trailblazers embodied a shift from a reliance on the supernatural to explain humankind’s place in the cosmos, to one where rational thought offered new, exciting possibilities…

The programme aired on BBC 4 in 2015.

More by this composer

Icon right

Icon left